You’re killing me Smalls! These are s’more’s stuff! Ok, pay attention. First you take the graham, you stick the chocolate on the graham. Then you roast the ‘mallow. When the ‘mallows flaming… you stick it on the chocolate. Then cover with the other end. Then you scarf. Kind of messy, but good! Try some! -Ham Porter The Sandlot

I must apologize to some of my twitter friends as this post is late.  @MissLFeedman I am very sorry for the lateness of this post.  I could blame a very engaging #nomnom chat but I won’t.

I saw this tweet earlier in the week;

MissLFreedman
I want to start a smore as a format to showcase tech in my class. I don’t know where to start! Help! @tina_zita @ed_rego @Libramlad #newbee
2015-01-07, 8:45 PM

I replied that I would have a post about it on Friday (hence the apology).

I have started (just two) using Smore to make my Dinner talk emails, a bi-daily (is that a word?) email that I sent to parents so they know what we are doing during the week.  I try to Tweet as well but the dinner talk emails seem to be going better.

I had seen Smore before (lol) @tina_zita uses them all the time.

But then our Librarian @marlinslibrary sent out a smore as an email and I thought, huh!  That looks much more inviting than the emails I regularly send out.  So I hopped on to the website to see how easy it was to do.

Really. too. easy.

It was like typing a regular email but I got to choose my background, and interesting font type.  It blocked out titles for me and places to put my pictures.  It helped me organize my email so it was not so laborious to read.  Nothing like opening an email that is too long and not bothering to read it.  I think I will continue to use the free site for now but I don’t think I get to make many more.  I read somewhere that I only get five smores in the free version but I have not hit that wall yet.  If I do I will let you know.

One of the interesting things is that the only way to get to the smore is if I provide you with the link.  This lets me  know how many people have visited the site which is a great way to know how many parents are actually reading my emails.  This was a nice bonus that I didn’t think about before.  I like that I can add pictures from our day or tweets in the smore sort of like Storify which uses your tweets to tell a story of your day.  My smores are not very fancy yet but it is really easy to use.  I have included a few links below to some tutorials that I liked and helped me out.

I hope this helps

Talk to you soon

Don

Leave a comment