If you have good thoughts…they will shine out your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely. -Matilda from Matilda

Happy New Year!  I hope you had a brilliant holiday and you had some time to rest, relax and recharge.

I came across this article over the holidays and thought it had some interesting ideas.  The article goes on to talk about how  personality traits, contentiousness and openness, extroversion, agreeableness, and neuroticism play a role in how well you do in school.  The article gives a link to the study and goes on to present the argument that students with the two traits of openness and contentiousness were graded a whole grade higher than those students who didn’t have these traits as strongly. The last line in the original article though is the one that stuck with me over my break:

“Still, it’s an interesting way to think about academic achievement for anyone who grew up believing they did well in school simply because they were “smart.””

That was rattling inside my head most of the last days of my holiday. It was an interesting idea and I wondered how that would work.

Then my wife showed me a video I had seen before.

It Clicked.

Personality in class is a HUGE deal.  Those students who are open to new ideas and learning who are contentious about getting their work done are all ready at an advantage.  Who wouldn’t want that little girl in their classroom? I know I would.  As a teacher I need to remember that what I do in the classroom affects all my students personalities.

I need to keep them open to new ideas.

I need to help keep them accountable for when they are at school, for their work, how they treat others and how they treat themselves.

Have a good start back to school for those of you who’s first day is tomorrow.

Don

Leave a Reply

