“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.” – Alvin Toffler

How do you teach technology?

That is a big question.  Is it even a question?  Should we be teaching technology?  Should we assume that all kids come with ideas and adaptations that automatically understand computers better than their teachers?  I as a digital Non Native wonder these things, they may even keep me up tonight!

I don’t have all the answers and the answers I come up with only lead me to more questions.    I was responding to a response Jonathan So made to a comment I made on his blog during the blog hop on Tuesday  about what technology education looks like in grade one compared to grade eight?  Does it look the same, critical thinking, problem solving, team work, or does it look different?

This leads me to the question about curriculum.  Should we have a curriculum for technology with big ideas and scaleable learning for students, and teachers to understand certain ideas and concepts by certain grades?  If that happens how do we organize it?  What areas should we concentrate on?  How should the learning be organized?

These questions lead me to wonder about equality.   Sure, all students in my class have equal access to technology, but what about outside my classroom?  How do we balance access for those of my students who don’t have as much access to technology outside school.  Because lack of access to technology is increasingly becoming a lack of access to information.  How do we teach those students who are going to find themselves behind, not because they are not interested but because they don’t have access.

Aren’t those enough questions to lead you to think maybe we need to look at a curriculum for technology?

Let me know.

Don

One thought on ““The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.” – Alvin Toffler

  1. Donald I agree. Technology is a tool, that is it. A tool misused is still a misused tool. We have to focus our thinking to good teaching practises. That has always been the core of a teacher. However, it is no longer about do I use technology or not. Our kids are growing up in it. We have to use it or face a generation of student unprepared for life. However, the question is how do we incorporate this learning into how we traditionally teach.

    I have tried to put certain skills for a K-5 level but tech should not be a separate subject. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1i8d5fsXZ5t0uk1L6fyby8qh1GHCzfgChpDznVkYVP60/edit?usp=sharing

    I think the answer is in changing how we traditionally teach. Just like our students need to adapt to an ever changing world so do we as teachers. The more that we teach through inquiry and student led projects I think that naturally these skills are being embedded in the learning. I look at what my grade twos are capable of and it amazes me. The learning, the key skills are just ingrained into the projects.

    Sorry that I haven’t really answered your question but then again maybe there is no real answer right now. Thanks for posting your ideas and questions, can’t wait to hear what others have to say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

