Above All Watch with Glittering Eyes the Whole World around you because the greatest secrets are hidden all around you. -Roald Dhal (modified)

Jason Richea invited me to give a hundred words about what 21st century learning means to me. I had to think about that.  It means so many things to me, but I have only 100 words.

WHOOPS! I almost forgot this is a part of a blog hop with Peel District School Board.  So once your done here click a link below and see some other answers from some others in Peel.

What does 21st century learning means to me?

It means freedom.

It means freedom for my students to find an entry point through several different learning styles and abilities in my class.  It is liberating to be able to see my students search for information and be able to consume it and display it in ways that they, and others can relate to.  In turn I have to remind my self not to be a gate keeper when it comes to my students.  Give them the choice in how they access their information and how they display it.  Give them their freedom, and they will surprise you.  Now back to looking at beyblades and gears (Grade fours are amazing as to what they can come up with…)

Thanks for reading and continue the hop below:

Don

Susan Campo @susancampo
Jim Cash @cashjim
Greg Pearson @vptechnodork
Phil Young @_PhilYoung
James Nunes @jameseliasnunes
Donald Campbell @libramlad
Ken Dewar Bestbefore2030
Graham Whisen @grahamwhisen
Lynn Filliter @assessmentgeek
Debbie Axiak @DebbieAxiak
Alicia Quennell @AliciaQuennell
Jonathan So @MrSoClassroom
Jim Blackwood @jimmyblackwood
Jason Richea @jrichea
Tina Zita @Xna_zita
8 thoughts on “Above All Watch with Glittering Eyes the Whole World around you because the greatest secrets are hidden all around you. -Roald Dhal (modified)

  1. Don, your post has got me thinking about how freedom and choice enhance learning in the classroom and how ‘schooling’ has changed as more people gain freedom and choice.

    Like

  2. Great post. I think the concept of freedom is a profound one. Technology has enabled learning to happen anytime and anywhere – a true freedom to explore. For our school system to stay relevant, we will need to find ways to bring that freedom into the formal structure, or it will not survive (or at the very least, it will hold students back from their potential). Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

