“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” ― Fred Rogers

Today I realized how powerful a Learning Community can be.  I work at a small school in Brampton Ontario.  Today was Dot Day #DotDay14.  We had a wonderful day in class, all because of My learning community and the community of learners I am building in my classroom.  Before the internet came into the classroom my Learning community involved the teachers I knew at my current school and the people I graduated with from teachers collage.  Now through sites like Twitter, Pintrest, and Instagram I have teaching colleagues from all around the world to listen to, read their ideas, and bounce ideas off of when I am not sure.  I get so many ideas that I sometimes have to use a digital Pocket to file ideas away to look at later. ( I am so glad my digital files don’t look like my paper files).

I think that it is fantastic that we have all these people to talk to over various forms of communication and I have had these wonderful talks with people I have only met over twitter, but they come up to me and say Hi because we have all ready built a relationship online.  It makes the days easier and the planing not so hard when you have many hands to lighten the load.  Its nice to have helpers.  Now a days you don’t have to look too far.

Leave a Reply

